2018 CFFC 70

2018 CFFC 70


CFFC 70 brought a hot-fire card live to FloCombat Saturday, March 24. Here's what went down.

The CFFC 70 main event was supposed to be contested between bantamweight king Ricky Bandejas and undefeated challenger Askar Askar, but after Bandejas fell ill following weigh-ins, there was a change of plans. 

Instead, undefeated top prospects Hopeton Stewart and Cesar Balmaceda threw down in the marquee bout of the evening, and fans were treated to an entertaining, back-and-forth scrap. 

While each man had his moments, Balmaceda landed the harder shots and controlled positions overall, earning the unanimous decision victory on the judges' scorecards. 

Also on the card was the pro debut of EBI 12 champion Erin Blanchfield. The 18-year-old fighter won her amateur debut at ACC 17 via armbar, and she continued her winning ways as she transitioned into the pro ranks vs. the previously unbeaten Whittany Pyles. 

While Pyles showed promise on the feet and tested Blanchfield early, the bout was over as soon as it hit the mats. The BJJ wizard dominated Pyles on the ground, scoring with punches, elbows, and submission attempts aplenty. 

Pyles gutted it out to hear the bell in Round 1, but the doctors determined she could not continue, and Blanchfield took home the TKO victory, establishing herself as a fighter to watch moving forward. 

Full CFFC 70 Results (click any fight to watch replay)

Cesar Balmaceda def. Hopeton Stewart via unanimous decision
BJ Young def. Ben Allen via TKO, Round 1
Sergio De Bari def. Adi Alic via split decision
Kenny Gaudreu def. Thiago Rela via TKO, Round 1
Solomon Renfro def. Scott Noble via split decision
Terry Bartholomew def. Chris Piriz via unanimous decision
Erin Blanchfield def. Whittany Pyles via TKO (doctor’s stoppage between Rounds 1 & 2)
Troy Sterling def. Magic Mears via unanimous decision

Event Info
Cage Fury Fighting Championships (CFFC) makes its FloCombat debut Saturday, March 24, live from Atlantic City, New Jersey, with CFFC 70. The action begins at 6 PM ET. 
Show More