picture of 2018 KOP 61

Apr 21, 2018

KOP 61 streams live Saturday, April 21, bringing a heavyweight title fight and more right to your favorite device at 7 PM ET. 


One of the most exciting promotions in the Midwest, KOP, returned Saturday night for its impressive 61st installment.  KOP 61 took place at the Deltaplex Arena in Grand Rapids, Michigan for fourteen exciting bouts of professional and amateur MMA. Here's what went down.

The night’s main event featured a clash for the vacant KOP Heavyweight Championship, as Rueben Esparza (3-1) and Erick Lozano (8-14) squared off in a thrilling three-round tilt.  When all was said and done, it was Esparza who had done enough to earn the unanimous decision nod.  

Fans may have been expecting a knockout but were pleasantly surprised by the cardio and aggression displayed from both competitors.

In the co-main event, pro lightweights Zack Shaw (6-2) and Alexander Trevino (9-9) threw down in one for the highlight reels.  Early on in the bout, Shaw secured a slick takedown.  Trevino shot up his legs looking for a triangle submission.  It was at this point Shaw took it upon himself to deliver a highlight for the ages.

Paying homage to MMA legend Rampage Jackson and the "Slam King" Gerald Harris, Shaw rose Trevino over his head and slammed him down on the mat.  Trevino was out cold on impact.  Two thunderous follow-up shots later, the referee was pulling Shaw off his downed opponent.

Full KOP 61 Results

Pro Heavyweight Championship Bout: Ruben Esparza (3-1) def. Erick Lozano (8-14) def. by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Pro Lightweight Bout: Zack Shaw (6-2) def. Alexander Trevino (9-9) by knockout (slam) at 1:33 of Round 1

Pro Welterweight Bout: Devin Smyth (7-1 1 NC) vs. Dan Yates (1-0 1NC) ends in no contest

Pro Lightweight Bout: Antoine Blassingame (4-4) def. Collin Anglin (1-1) unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Pro Welterweight Bout: Randy Patino (2-0) def. Nate Kinde (0-1) 0:42 of Round 1

Pro Lightweight Bout: Kenny Cross (4-2) def. Chris Reid (0-1) by submission (arm triangle choke) at 1:09 of Round 1

Pro Light Heavyweight Bout: Jamahal Hill (3-0) def. William Vincent (4-7) by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Amateur Heavyweight Championship Bout: Esteban Rodriguez (6-1) def. DJ Kammeraad (2-1) by knockout (elbows) at 3:47 of Round 1

Amateur Lightweight Bout: Idris Perry (3-0) def. Dominic Billingsly (5-2) by TKO (retirement) at 5:00 of Round 2

Amateur Lightweight Bout: Mando Gutierrez (1-0) def. Tulsa Dean (0-1) by submission (arm-triangle choke) at 0:33 of Round 2

Amateur Flyweight Bout: Andrew Livernois (4-1) def. Jordan Carrow (4-4) by submission (shoulder-lock) at 2:34 of Round 1

Amateur Bantamweight Bout: Jacob Wiggins (1-0) def. Gage Ching (0-1) by TKO (punches) at 1:49 of Round 1

Amateur Light Heavyweight Bout: Russell Frankhouser (1-1) def. Michael Clark (0-2) by submission (neck-crank) at 0:34 of Round 1

Amateur Lightweight Bout: Trey Boerman (1-0) def. Raymond Davis (1-1) by submission (arm bar) at 0:28 of Round 1